The one and only Pet I haven’t liked

1 Jul

I’ve always been a pet person – we’ve always had dogs for as long as I can remember.  Things are no different today.  Nick and I have two Siberian Huskies, Denali and Naya, that we treat as our own children.  Actually, we view them as practice children whereby we each can test out our different parenting styles and make sure we’re on the same page when the time comes when we’re ready to have children of our own!  Here’s a photo of Denali (black/white) and Naya (all white):

Well last week was the first time I encountered a pet I didn’t like – and that was the results of my PET scan.  I had a PET scan done in order to ascertain what other parts of the body, if any, were also infected with cancerous cells.  Up until this point, I had been told that the natural progression for colo-rectal cancer was first to the liver and then to the lungs.  I received the results of the PET scan the very next day.  Sure enough, there were also two small lesions on my liver…ugh.  When inquiring how long my liver had been affected before, we received varying opinions ranging from a few months to over a year.  The scary part is that I had a CT scan done of my abdomen area back when I initially started feeling cramps, and the images of my liver came up clean.  Many will tell you that CT scans and even PET scans will not always accurately depict what is going on in your body, and I can’t help but wonder if that was the case in the instance of my first scans.

In the months and years to come, I will likely be the recipient of many more PET scans to come and I can only hope and pray that this is the worst of them and that the results continuously improve.

Leave a Reply

