Blessed…

13 Jul

It may sounds weird, however despite a diagnosis like this, I cannot help to feel blessed.  Let me count the ways…

I am blessed to be surrounded by such amazing family and friends.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I cannot believe the overwhelming support that has come from people that I am surrounded by on a daily basis, as well as those whom I have not been in contact with for ages.  It is an incredible feeling to be in so many people’s thoughts and prayers, and for that I am forever grateful.  I can’t help but imagine going through something like this under different circumstances, for example with no family or support, or as a single parent working several jobs to support a family, or without health insurance.  The fact that I do not fall into any of these categories while attempting this fight let’s me know I am extremely blessed.

This past weekend was the first weekend after starting chemo and radiation so I took it easy and enjoyed the absence of radiation beams aimed at my rear end!  On Saturday, Jane and I spent the afternoon shopping (something I often refer to as self-medicating).  On Sunday I met up with Carrie and Chase for a morning walk and we even got rained on a bit, which was a rare occurrence!  On Sunday evening, Nick and I enjoyed dinner at Ryan and Fabiana’s.  But this was no ordinary dinner…Ryan prepared a dish specifically in accordance to my prescribed low-residue diet.  Being it was a hot summer evening, he whipped up a pot of Williams-Sonoma Chilled Cucumber Soup.  How’s that for amazing friends?!

Chef Ryan

And lastly, I could not recap the weekend without sharing a photo of the kids.  It’s fascinating how intuitive dogs can be, and I can surely tell that they know something is going on – they have been so attentive and compassionate lately.  You may have heard of dogs being used for healing and/or companion purposes.  The cancer center I go to for my treatments believes in the power of this type of therapy and every Tuesday brings in a dog to visit all the patients receiving chemo – love it!  Denali and Naya are actually registered service animals (long story, and if you have to ask, get my version, not Nick’s!) and it is my goal to have them accompany me to one of my appointments before I am done…stay tuned!

6 Responses to “Blessed…”

  1. Rita Hartert July 13, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

    Good to hear from you tonight, Em. Has been a few days, so one begins to worry. Glad you had a nice weekend with Jane and friends…..keeps the mind busy! Also like the pic with the dogs. Love you…Aunt Rita

  2. Barbara McCarthy July 13, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    What a wonderful attitude, Em! I pray every day for you for total health and a long, happy life.

  3. RYAN July 14, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    HEY M. GLAD YOU LOVED THE SOUP!!! MAKES ME FEEL SO PROUD THAT I CAN DO SOMETHING FOR YOU THAT HELPS TO LIGHTEN UP YOUR BUSY SCHEDULE AND TASTES GREAT TOO! I GUESS YOU SNUCK A PICTURE AND I DIDN’T KNOW. IT’S SO FUNNY THAT RIGHT ABOUT THAT TIME WE WERE DISCUSSING THE RAW TALENT OF NIKO’S NEW PHOTO HOBBY. I GUESS YOU BOTH HAVE “IT”. I LOVE THE PICTURE WITH YOU, D&N. GREAT SHOT NIKO! BY THE WAY I HAVE MANY MORE RECIPIES THAT I BELIEVE YOU WILL LOVE AND FITS THE CRITERIA. LET’S PICK ANOTHER ONE WHEN YOU HAVE A MOMENT. IF ANY OF YOUR FRIENDS OR FAMILY WOULD LIKE ANY OF THE RICIPIES, I WOULD BE MORE THAN HAPPY TO SHARE. YOU MAY FORWARD MY EMAIL.

    • Jane July 16, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

      Ryan,

      Instead of inconveniencing you to forward the delicious recipes, I’ll just come over with Em and Nick some night and you can make another scrumptious dinner…

      Jane

  4. Carrie July 14, 2010 at 10:37 pm #

    Oh nice! The kids will have a chance to wear their stylish service dog uniforms again. And I thought that they would only get to sport them at for airport transit!

  5. Lynn and Lon July 15, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    Emily,

    I actually think we are the ones that are blessed to be YOUR friends, and soon to be relatives! We should all strive to meet your strength, optimism, drive and dedication. Thank you for taking the time to educate us on this challenge you are having to undertake. Your blog is truly a teaching tool of the most personal nature. (not to mention the darling pics!) Lots of love, Lynn and Lon

Leave a Reply

