The end of an era

15 Jul

The last bite

The Summer of 2010 Ice Cream Eating Era that is.  This may sound a tad bit dramatic, however when you live in Las Vegas and it’s the dead of summer (my car thermometer read 121 degrees today), then ice cream is regarded as a necessity.  It happened just as they predicted…one of the chemo side effects finally kicked in after my chemo appointment on Monday – intolerance to all things cold, including my Golden Spoon cake batter frozen yogurt with Heath crumbles on top.  It was the strangest sensation ever, and made for some good laughs.  My tongue actually became paralyzed and I instantly developed a speech impediment that would last for the next hour.  At one point, it actually got caught on the exterior side of my teeth/bite and I had to manually put it back in its place.  While I did not see the humor in this, Nick managed to find enough for the both of us.  I never thought I was ‘above’ the forewarned side effects, but I had secretly been hoping I would escape this one.

Some other side effects are starting to kick in as well.  The fatigue is definitely present – I slept 14 hours yesterday.  This has been difficult to adjust to, as the word ‘nap’ hasn’t been in my vocabulary since studying abroad in Spain and siestas were a daily occurrence.  Jane, however, has helped me find comfort in and adjust to naps.  She is the queen of naps and won’t sacrifice her sacred sleep regimen for anyone or anything!

I’ve also noticed a pattern in which on the second day following chemo treatment I become very nauseous.  It only lasts for the day and then passes.  The docs have since prescribed some anti-nausea medicine that I’ll start taking to hopefully combat this in coming weeks.  All things considered, I can’t complain.  I’m one-third through with chemo appointments and have completed one-fourth of my radiation treatments.  Oh, and as for the radiation, that is getting better as well.  While I know the initial pain was real (I swear I wasn’t imagining it), I decided it was a matter of mind over body and since then have been blocking out any sense of discomfort…we’ll see how long this will last.

Quote of the day: “You still look so beautiful; how come you haven’t turned green yet?” – Nick

4 Responses to “The end of an era”

  1. Jill July 16, 2010 at 4:13 am #

    That fro-yo combo sounds perfect!! Gonna get me some of dat!
    Glad to hear the treatments are treating you better & Nick is SO right- you are the prettiest cancer patient I’ve seen!
    Love you!
    j

  2. Jane July 16, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    Em,

    Aren’t you one for games and entertainment? I have a feeling you will soon become a great source of entertainment for me…

    I’m going to take a nap then I’ll pick you up for some ice cream. Oh, and I ordered a DQ cake for next Wednesday ;)

  3. Clinton July 19, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    Hey Em,

    I love your stories; that would have been a site to see with the tongue! These days “going green” is viewed as a good thing, but perhaps not in this case :)

    Thanks again for taking the time to come see me at the Wynn and I still haven’t fulfilled the carppacio craving you two instilled in me.

    Love you both and thank you for the wonderful stories and updates!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wedding shenanigans and other preocupations « colo-RECTing cancer - August 17, 2010

    […] to combat them by using cold wash cloths and eating bowls of ice cream (which triggers another side effect).  Needless to say, I feel well-prepared for menopause and can finally sympathize with those that […]

Leave a Reply

