Only a mother…

29 Jul

Prior to this week, I had been in touch with Emily on a near-daily basis – and yes, sometimes hourly!  While phone calls, emails, and voice mails are great, there is nothing like actually being here.  I flew in from Minneapolis Sunday morning, and within two hours I was cooking for a crew of nine!  Never have I made three dozen scrambled eggs, three pounds of bacon, and four pounds of hash browns!

Aside from being the “chief cook and bottle washer” for a week, I have also gone with Emily to her numerous doctor appointments.  What amazed me the most was her chemo appointment on Monday.  With the continuous drip-drip of the IV it all seemed so uneventful, but in reality it was three hours of the poisonous chemo flowing through her veins.  The treat of the day was learning that she could skip her radiation treatments for a few days.    I can think of many treats, but I guess a person’s life and priorities change when you learn you have cancer.

The circle of treatments and side effects was an eye-opener for me as well.  While chemo can cause certain side effects, the treatment for those side effects can cause other side effects….and of course, there is a treatment for that side effect!

Emily has been such a trooper through all of this; I admire her courage, her attitude, and her stamina.  Only a mother can feel so helpless; I only wish I could take it all from her.  She knows though, never to underestimate the power of a mother’s prayer.

I love you so very much, Emily.   Love, Mom.

4 Responses to “Only a mother…”

  1. Rita Hartert July 29, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    Amen!

  2. Sandy Ross(aunt, once removed!) July 29, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    Such a beautiful picture of mom and daughter. Both of you are wonderful ladies. Having had an ill child at one time, I can easily feel with you, Toni. My heart aches for you and Emily and all that Em has to endure. My daily prayers will be with you.
    Love, Sandy

  3. Barbara McCarthy July 30, 2010 at 6:05 am #

    Still keeping you in my prayers, Em! Hey Toni, so happy you’re able to be in LV for support and to take care of Emily. Moms always want to help out;it’s hard having kids living away from home base.

  4. Angela and Andrew August 2, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    Awe, Emily is so fortunate to have a mother like you.

Leave a Reply

