A family afair

12 Aug

If I haven’t mentioned it before, I feel incredibly blessed by the support network of family and friends I am surrounded by.  While I am lucky enough to see certain members of this network on a daily basis, there are others that I only get to see a few times each year or sometimes less – yet this doesn’t mean their thoughts and prayers aren’t heard and felt.  Case in point: The Ihrkes gathered together over this past Fourth of July weekend at Jellystone Park in Wisconsin for a joint baby shower (congrats Jessi & Mike), bridal shower (congrats Sam & Olan) and high school graduation (congrats Adam).  While I was bummed Nick and I couldn’t be a part of this weekend, I enjoyed seeing everyone’s photos and hearing stories recounted of trying to place the cousins in order from oldest to youngest – no easy feat.

Fast-forward to yesterday.  I received a FedEx at the house from my Uncle Joe.  Enclosed was a powerful piece of artwork along with a photo that brought me to tears.  The Ihrke clan had taken the time to create a banner that said ‘Emily, we’re thinking of you’ and then gathered around it for a photo (to get a better look at it, click on the picture to enlarge it).  As you can see from the photo, I have power in numbers on my side (and that’s not even all of them)!  Thank you to all that participated in this – you don’t know how much it means…

The Ihrke Support Network

Now, if only I could figure out who took the picture!

5 Responses to “A family afair”

  1. Danette Jaeger August 13, 2010 at 6:04 am #

    Now Emily, who took the picture should be easy!! Naturally it was our family photographer – Angel :-)

    • eeihrke August 13, 2010 at 9:32 am #

      That was actually my first thought – I just couldn’t remember everyone who was there!! I should have just assumed :)

  2. Karen Moger August 15, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    Hey Em,
    Had my 6 month check up Fri. 3 years clean. I thought of you all day. I willed all my good carma your way. I know all about the “Flashes” I have experienced the mothers of them all,just so you know, wine brings them on as well. Plan on more winter visits to MN, stepping into the outdoor “freezer” brings them under control real quick. Hang in there dear one, you too will be posting better news once you get out of the”battle field.” Can’t wait to see you in a few weeks. May the force be with you!!!
    Aunt Karen

  3. Erica August 16, 2010 at 6:30 am #

    I have to say that there are 2 people that really make this photo – Adam and Tommy. And aren’t we lucky to have a “family photographer”? Not all families have one!

    Looking forward to seeing you real soon!

  4. Mary Nakaki August 18, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    Tommy appears to be your warrior. Everyone needs a warrior you know.

Leave a Reply

