Girls just wanna have fun

18 Aug

Eight no-hassle, drama-free women from all across the country come together for the weekend. The result?  One amazing bachelorette party!

Months ago, my sister and maid of honor, Jane, approached me and asked me what I wanted to do for my bachelorette party.  The first thing I told her was that there would be no mani/pedis.  That’s right.  Although some may consider an activity like this a bachelorette ritual, I was aiming for a different approach: adventure!  While my first idea of dune-buggy racing across the desert didn’t pan out, the next idea did.  We kicked off the weekend Saturday morning with a zip line tour across the canyons on the outskirts of Las Vegas, near the Hoover Dam.  Allison, Jaime, Jane and I signed up for the Bootleg Canyon Flightline Tour – a zip line course consisting of four zip lines each ranging from 1/4 to 1/2 mile in length, allowing you to reach speeds over 60mph.  It was an exhilarating time, to say the least!

Jaime, Jane and Em prepare for the zip line tours

Jaime, Allison, Jane and Em prepare for landing!

After we finished the zip line course and our adrenaline was rushing, we decided to check into our suite at Mandalay Bay and head out to the pool where we had a cabana and were joined by some more ladies.

Sun bathing beauties - Allison, Jane, Em, Carrie, Jaime and Brynn

After perfecting our tan lines, we headed in from the pool and got and ready for the evenings festivities: dinner, a concert, and a club!  I had a couple of rules that I needed to lay down for the evening before we went out though.  As one can imagine, Vegas is inundated with bachelorettes and their entourages every weekend – and they are not difficult to spot.  The bachelorettes often are sporting tiaras, pageant-style sashes, boas, or all of the above.  I was not going to tolerate any of this, as I was determined to keep this evening a classy affair!

Dinner at China Grill - Brynn, Gale, Jaime, Emily, Jane, Fabiana and Allison

Following dinner and a brief cameo at an 80s concert that was playing out at the pool, we headed to Blush, a nightclub at the Wynn hotel where someone must have given them a heads up that this was a special day because we were treated like royalty!  This club experience was extra special because it was Jane’s first time at a Las Vegas nightclub and we had an absolute blast!

A champagne toast with Brynn, Fabiana, Gale, Jane, Em, Jaime and Allison

After a fabulous night out, we topped off the weekend with brunch at the Verandah at the Four Seasons.

Brynn, Em, Jane and Allison enjoy a scrumptous brunch at the Four Seasons

The weekend had come to an end.  We had gotten our dose of adventure, sun, music, nightlife, great food and most importantly, great friends!  My sister proved herself as an incredible bachelorette party planner and I can’t even begin to thank her enough.  She managed to put together a weekend of festivities that allowed me to entirely forget everything I’ve been dealing with these past few months.  Thank you also to Jaime and Matt Chilton who allowed us to walk around Vegas like VIPs.  And lastly, thank you to all the ladies who were able to be a part of this weekend!

Truth be told, I was a little nervous going into the weekend, as I didn’t know how my energy and stamina would endure.  I was so encouraged by the fact that not once did I feel tired or weak.  Nonetheless, I was definitely ready for some rest and relaxation after the festivities concluded…

4 Responses to “Girls just wanna have fun”

  1. Sandy Ross(aunt, once removed!) August 18, 2010 at 6:42 pm #

    What an awesome party you had! I think the older generation should try zip-lining—-what do you think, Rita, Marie, Carol, Toni?

  2. Rita Hartert August 18, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    As Emily wrote, ziplining is exhilarating! Leave it to Jane to plan a party! Wonder if she would do the honors (planning) for our 50th anniversary in a few years. xo Rita
    P.S. Am glad you girls had this wonderful experience in order to get your mind of the negative stuff for a while, and concentrate on enjoying being together and taking in the ‘fun’ stuff.

  3. Jane August 18, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    Em, I’m so glad you had a great time!

    Aunt Rita you let me know when and I’ll figure out the rest! Love you and can’t wait to see you soon!

  4. Fabs August 19, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    Emmmmmmmmmmmm =) I had an amazing time with you Jane and your friends!!!! Great Bachelorette party !!! Can’t wait for the wedding =) love Fabs

Leave a Reply

