Honeymoon, meet Mini-moon

21 Aug

Like any soon-to-be couple, we began the discussion of where to take our honeymoon months ago.  We debated an adventure-based vacation as well as a beach bum-style escape, and weighed various exotic locations from Indonesia to Croatia to Peru but finally settled on the Maldives.  That is until this whole cancer thing decided to stop in and pay us a visit.  As we learned what the entire battle would entail and how tightly everything would fit in with the wedding planning process, a long, uninterrupted getaway began to seem further and further away.  While I am managing to fit all the chemo and radiation treatments in prior to the wedding, there is still the surgery that needs to take place, and this has been scheduled for Monday, September 20th.  This leaves just two weeks from the time I walk down the aisle until I walk into the operating room.  Attempting to gallivant around the world – and actually relax and enjoy it – was not realistic; however, we weren’t going to give up that easily.

Instead, we booked a mini-moon, a short brief honeymoon.  One week after the wedding, we’ll be heading down to Cabo San Lucas.  While always beautiful, Cabo wasn’t quite the exciting getaway we had always dreamed about, plus we had already been there, however it will let us at least keep the honeymoon tradition and hopefully help de-stress before gong under the knife…which will take place a mere 72 hours after we return!  Then, we hope to keep our plans of an exotic honeymoon down the road, perhaps sometime next year.

There was another reason we were so determined to make some type of honeymoon work.   In our 8 1/2 years together Nick and I have never taken a vacation alone.  I can’t even believe it as I type it, in fact I’m ashamed!  Sure we’ve traveled together and experienced some great trips, but it has always been with family, friends or work-related.  If you ask Nick, he may tell you that spending everyday with me is a vacation itself (insert: sarcasm)! Needless to say, this trip is loooong overdue and hopefully will be the first of many many more to come…

3 Responses to “Honeymoon, meet Mini-moon”

  1. Angela August 21, 2010 at 7:28 am #

    Cabo San Lucas will be beatiful!!!

  2. Frenchie Fanatic August 21, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    I just stumbled upon your blog and I love it! You seem like such a strong and positive person. I think Cabo will be an excellent honeymoon spot for you and your fiancee. And maybe you can go somewhere more “exotic” after you’ve overcome the C battle. Best of luck and I look forward to more of your posts!

    -A bride-to-be in Chicago

  3. Bill September 20, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    Em and Nick – Sorry I was late picking you up at the airport. I would say that I was just trying to extend your mini-moon, but I will save you from that rubbish. My apologies…

Leave a Reply

