Back on the bandwagon

3 Oct

I had to rock the cowboy boots for my last chemo appointment!

This past week I had a follow-up appointment with my oncologist and informed him of the fact that my surgery had been postponed until November.  When he caught wind of this, he immediately ordered up another chemotherapy session…only this time it would be a stronger dosage than my previous treatments, given I was no longer receiving radiation treatments simultaneously.  Not knowing what to expect, the treatment began as it normally had in the past and I was typing away on my laptop on work and emails.  Less than half way through the IV drip, however, I lost complete use of my arm due to numbness.  This is not your typical numbness though – it’s a painful numbness (an oxymoron?) that is similar to the feeling you get when your arm or leg falls asleep…times 100.

Since finishing treatment on Thursday I’ve slowly begun to recover and have slept more these past three days than the past few weeks combined.  My diet has consisted of Ovaltine and macaroni and cheese – my sense of smell is so extremely heightened, I can’t fathom trying to stomach anything else.  Fortunately this past chemo session will be the last one prior to surgery; they don’t recommend any chemotherapy less than four weeks prior to procedures.  I am, however, also on a double dosage of my oral chemo pills for another week.  Also added to the medicine cabinet this week was Premarin – a low dose estrogen pill used to combat menopausal symptoms, namely, hot flashes.  We won’t know for another 2-3 months if the symptoms are temporary or permanent but if they turn out to be permanent we’ll explore some long term options.  More updates to follow…

3 Responses to “Back on the bandwagon”

  1. Karen Moger October 4, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    Hi Em,
    Soldier on dear one, it too shall pass. You gain strength, courage and confidence with every experience.
    I remember everything I ate tasted like I had a mouth full of pennies! Yuck! The hotflashes, well, what can I say, they got better, afterall I was 55 years old. Try to look at it all as a temporary detour. Put it in God’s hands and trust him for the strength you need.
    Lots of Love,
    Aunt Karen

  2. Fabs October 5, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    Hi Em,
    Thanks for keeping us posted!!!! I loved the picture, you are always so positive and you rock those boots!!!!Be strong….we are aways thinking about you =)

  3. Mary Nakaki October 11, 2010 at 2:55 am #

    Emily, you are doing an awesome job of hanging in there girl. I have a saying by C.S. Lewis that I like and I think it fits you perfectly. “Courage is not simply one of the virtues, but the form of every virtue at it’s testing point.” You’ve really demonstrated amazing courage. Mary

Leave a Reply

