Ready. Set. Resect!

2 Nov

Well folks, I’ve made it to the next hurdle: surgery – a laproscopic lower anterior resection, to be exact.  Tomorrow is the big day and I am actually kinda looking forward to it.  Call me strange, but I’m the type of person that likes cleaning a clogged drain purely for the satisfaction of knowing it is now clean and clear.  In less than 24 hours, my drain will be clean and clear and tumor free!

Today has been a fun-filled day of flushing, just like a colonoscopy prep.  Tomorrow I’ll to arrive at the hospital at 6:30am and game time is scheduled for 8:30am.  If I remember correctly, the procedure is scheduled to last two hours and then I’ll make my way up to a nice cozy hospital room for the next 2-7 days.  In the interim, Jane will be on blog duty with updates over the next few days.

If you’re curious what the procedure will entail, you can see an animated YouTube clip on the About page of the blog (don’t worry, it’s all computer generated so there is no blood and guts)!  For those who decide to take a pass, I’ll leave you with a video that is a little more lighthearted – a quintet of signing anesthesiologists from Minnesota (you’ll want your speakers on for this one).  I wonder what tune I’ll be humming in the morning!  Thanks again for all the love and support, it means the world to me…

7 Responses to “Ready. Set. Resect!”

  1. Rita Hartert November 3, 2010 at 5:57 am #

    We continue our prayers for you today, Em…..and for skillful hands of the surgeon! Love, Rita

  2. Sandy Ross November 3, 2010 at 6:53 am #

    Praying for you today, Em. You have a wonderful outlook and I know you will do well!

  3. Carrie T November 3, 2010 at 7:39 am #

    WhooHoo! Today is the day! Go Em!!!!

  4. Trent Bales November 3, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    Drinks are on me the next time I see you Emily…! I’ve been wearing my “Livestrong” wristband everyday…!
    Love Ya…!
    Trent & Zil

  5. Mary & Don November 3, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    Em:

    Praying for you and have candles lit.

  6. Mary Nakaki November 3, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    Hugs, Cheers, prayers whatever it takes to let you know we are all thinking of you and anxious to hear that everything went well. I know you will not have it any other way!

  7. Aunt Mary Lou & Uncle Jim November 3, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    Wishing you all the best! You show real courage!

Leave a Reply

