An evening to remember

19 Nov

It often feels like we live in a world where one has to dig deep to be reminded that there are still kindhearted, generous and caring people.  When you turn on the television or open a newspaper, we are quickly reminded of the ongoing housing crisis, are witness to political smear campaigns, or learn that Brett Favre is once again dealing with another injury.  Through my battle, however, I haven’t had to look far at all, as the amount of love and support that has been pouring in has been incredible.  The cards, flowers and emails I receive from friends, family members, and even people I don’t know is overwhelming – in a good way.  Another example, is the benefit dinner that my amazing friend Allison Luse is putting on for me tomorrow night, Saturday, November 20th at the Fireside Lounge at Camerata Park in St. Louis Park.

Always a go-getter, Al can’t just sit back and watch when someone is struggling…and my case was no different.  Allison held nothing back when she was organizing the festivities for tomorrow night.  The evening will be catered with a great dinner, feature Ruth Bachman as a keynote speaker, a silent auction, and best of all, a Zoolander-inspired dance off competition.  I can’t even begin to explain how much this means to me that she did this.

An Evening in Support of Emily Ihrke Akerberg

Thank you Al, and to everyone else who is coming together to make this an incredible evening.  While I am bummed I will not be able to physically be there, I’m hoping to be able to join in via Skype to say hello!  It is always neat to see people join forces on someone’s behalf…never in a million years did I imagine that it would be on my behalf.

4 Responses to “An evening to remember”

  1. Rose Siebenaler November 19, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

    Hey Emily, I am so glad that you have put so much medical agony behind you. I will continue to keep you in my prayers. Is there a way to make an online donation to this fundraider? Take care and
    L, R

  2. eeihrke November 20, 2010 at 6:45 am #

    Hi Rose,

    Thank you for the kind words! Yes, there is a place to donate online:

    http://www.purpletrail.com/pt2/events/invitations?id=54091

    Thanks for the continued love and support…

    Emily

  3. Mariah Graca November 20, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    We hope to see as many supporters tonight as possible! There will be great food, plenty of drinks, fabulous dancing, almost 40 items to bid for in the silent auction, and most importantly, the cause is EMILY! Please contact Mariah at 952-769-6905 ir ugar6365@stthomas.edu with last minute questions. Thank you!

  4. Mary Nakaki November 24, 2010 at 6:58 am #

    When I give thanks this holiday I am going to be thankful that you continue to keep a great attitude and determination to be well.

Leave a Reply

