What a weekend

4 Apr

After an amazing, whirlwind weekend Nick and I finally arrived back in Las Vegas this evening.  I am elated to report that the E-Team was in full effect at the Fool’s Five race and represented a healthy portion of the participants!  My cross-country coach in high school always used to tell us that like many strenuous activities, running was 90% mental and 10% physical.  I prayed this was still true as I lined up at the starting line, about to embark on a 5 mile run; this would be the first real exercise I had done since starting chemo last July (assuming you don’t include the countless walks I took down the hospital hallways, sporting my backless gown and pushing an IV cart).  Thank God this was still the case, as it was my determination – and not my scrawny, deteriorated quad muscles – that allowed me to cross the finish line a mere one hour, fifteen minutes and forty-eight seconds later.  And who can forget the sea of Team Emily shirts surrounding the finish line and cheering me in…with a crowd like that, I probably could have gone another five!  Thanks to everyone who came out to support, as well as those who were there in spirit.  Numerous people have told me that even though they couldn’t make it to the race, they walked or ran in my honor yesterday, including my brother who took the dogs on a five mile hike! As I am quite exhausted after it all, I will keep this rather short but share a few pictures from the weekend…more to follow.

My thanks again to everyone who made this a truly unforgettable weekend.

The E-Team! This is a nice hi-res photo, click on it several times to get even greater detail.

The photo finish!

Post-race photo with Jane, Dad and Em

5 Responses to “What a weekend”

  1. Kathleen Dickinson April 4, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    Congratulations Emily!!! You look great.

  2. Angela and Andrew April 5, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    Way to go, Emily!! Andrew is convinced it would have probably taken him 3 hours. :)

  3. Rita Hartert April 5, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    ‘Twas a great day and we were all so proud of you, Em. A day that will be hard to duplicate.

  4. Brad & ann ihrke April 5, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    way to go Emily you rock !!!! we are glad we could be part of your weekend

  5. Erinne May 12, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Your story is very inspiring. Thank-you for sharing. My Dad was Dx with colorectal cancer stage 3B in October of 2009! Keep strong. :)

Leave a Reply

