So long, stoma

27 May

The day has finally arrived…tomorrow I FINALLY get my ileostomy closed!  While some might be apprehensive about an upcoming surgery, I am giddy with excitement.  What was initially set to be a 4-6 week inconvenience has turned into a 29 week nightmare. I think most would agree I’ve maintained an upbeat attitude throughout this entire process, however I have definitely struggled to have a positive outlook when it comes to my stoma and ileostomy. Perhaps my outlook may have been different if I knew it would be a permanent fixture on my body, as some people have; however because I knew this would be temporary, I’ve been finding every reason to be annoyed with it. Not only has my bag resulted in unacceptable tan lines this spring, it has also been the cause of numerous trips home from the office in the middle of the day due to leakage…ugh. Well, in 12 hours from now, the process of closing the ileostomy and reattaching my small intestine to make a complete digestive track will be well underway.  The surgery is scheduled for 1pm Pacific and should last about an hour.  After that, it’s estimated I’ll spend the next 2-5 days in the hospital before being released.

Tonight Nick and I went out to celebrate a ‘Sans Stoma’ dinner…a nice hearty meal before the clock reaches midnight and I can no longer have any food or drink.  Of course, my bag started leaking towards the end of dinner and we rushed home to change it.  As I showered and replaced it with a new one, I took one final look at the two ends of the small intestine protruding through my stomach in hopes of never having to see it again (the next time my ostomy bag will be removed is once I’m finally under anesthesia). Nick will be at the hospital with me during the procedure, and Jane will be on blog duty afterwards.  As usual, I’m just asking for your thoughts and prayers as we get through this next step. C’est la vie, stoma!

3 Responses to “So long, stoma”

  1. Brad & ann ihrke May 27, 2011 at 6:42 am #

    you are a very strong woman and you are strong to nick you guys will get through this with flying colors Brad & Ann we love you EM oh i almost forgot we love you to nick

  2. Suzanne Svoboda May 27, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    All my thoughts and prayers are with you today. Remember things will not return to “normal” immediately following the surgery but in time all will be great again. Good Luck!

  3. fabs May 28, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    Em,
    Thinking about you as always, we love and miss you!!! Hang in there it’s almost over. Our prayers and thoughts are with you.

Leave a Reply

