Pipe dreams

31 May

Well as Jane reported, everything went well with the surgery and I left the hospital yesterday afternoon, exactly 72 hours after the procedure. I began eating solid foods the morning following the surgery and the doctors predicted I should start passing gas later that afternoon, and should have my first bowel movement the next day.  I was right on schedule with everything and have never been so excited to use the restroom and test out my newly restored plumbing.  I have several friends who are in the process of potty-training their children, and I felt just as elated as they are when praising their child’s first excrement…maybe even more so!

Getting rid of my bag has been the greatest feeling in the world, however there have been several times where I’ve experienced ‘phantom leaks’ – the sensation of my bag leaking, even though it’s not there any more.  The area on my stomach where my stoma was protruding is now a hole about the size of a dime.  Before going into surgery, the doctors gave me the option of having the hole closed completely, which would heal relatively quickly but leave a significant scar. Or, they could leave a small opening when closing the wound in order to let it heal on its own from the inside out, resulting in a longer healing time but less scar tissue.  I opted for the latter.  The resulting wound actually looks like a bullet hole.  I joked with my nurses as they were changing the bandages, “you should have seen the other guy!

Today was my first full day home, and I slept most of the day.  After my horrible experience coming off pain killers following my previous surgery, I vowed I would never go through something like that again. I’m hardly on any pain meds at all; I would prefer some minor pain and cramping any day over the grueling detox process of the pain killers.

While everything has gone well so far, I know I still have a ways to go before my bodily functions can even remotely be described as normal, and all the wounds heal.  Thanks to everyone sending their love, prayers and support these past few days, as well as to all the visitors I had.  While in the hospital, the doctors encouraged as much walking and activity as possible.  During one of my many strolls through the corridors, I found myself hoping that the next time I’m a patient in the hospital is when I’m ready to deliver a child…not a moment before then.  And a new goal is set.

6 Responses to “Pipe dreams”

  1. Aunt Mary Lou June 1, 2011 at 4:26 am #

    We wish you all the best Emily. This surgery is a big step forward and we hope your recovery goes well. Celebrate those bowel movements!

  2. Jessi Trigg June 1, 2011 at 6:58 am #

    HOOOORRRAAAYYY!!!! And what a great goal to look forward to! So glad everything is on the mend.

    Love, Prayers, and all that jazz,

    Jessi

  3. Martha Hernandez June 1, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    Glad to hear you are doing okay and it all went okay! We hope your recovery goes well! :)

  4. Karen Moger June 1, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    Bravoo!!!! another victory, keep soldiering on dear one, stay ahead of your battle, Cancer better beware of your defenses! Stay in charge. May the force be with you!!

  5. Erinne June 1, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    You sound like such a strong lady… I hope you reach your goals.

    Erinne

  6. Mary Nakaki June 2, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Thank you for never backing down to one single thing.
    ALL ABOARD WITH CAPTAIN EMILY!!!!

Leave a Reply

