The best birthday present ever

28 Jul

It’s funny how things change as you go through life.  When I was younger, I eagerly awaited my birthday party each year.  I would plan it meticulously down to the theme, the cups, the napkins, and the friends I invited. As I grew older, it wasn’t the parties that mattered so much, rather the cultural milestones such as my 16th and 21st birthdays.

And now here I am turning 30 years old today.  Despite the lack of balloons and streamers hanging from the ceiling, I was elated when I learned my sister Jane would be getting a colonoscopy on my birthday.  It arguably runs a close second to the Pretty Pretty Princess showing up at my 8th birthday party, however, knowing my sister is getting screened for and could potentially prevent the hereditary onset of colorectal cancer is quite possibly the best birthday present imaginable.

The patient is all prepped and ready to go! Seriously, how many people can manage to look this good in a hosital gown?!

Fortunately the procedure was over just as quick as it started and the results were in…she had a clean colon, making it an even better birthday present!  Just having this piece of mind will let me sleep better at night.  And now there’s just one sibling left to go in for the screening process, my brother.  I’m sure he’ll surprise me with a really great Christmas present…right Bill?!

4 Responses to “The best birthday present ever”

  1. diane rislow July 28, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    Emily, Give Jane a hug from me. What a wonderful gift she gave herself too! H
    I hope to see your Mom and Dad at our class reunion this weekend. :D
    Still praying for you. Diane

  2. Rita Hartert July 29, 2011 at 6:34 am #

    Yeah, Jane…….and what fun the prep work is! Made your day.

  3. Casie July 29, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    Happy 30th birthday, Emily! What a great present. We love you.

  4. Ariana Davidson July 29, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Happy birthday, Emily! And many happy returns!

Leave a Reply

